The Parochial Church Council is responsible for the day-to-day running of Holy Cross. It meets 10 times a year with an additional Annual Parochial Church Meeting, usually held in April, when the churchwardens and PCC members are elected. Crediton has recently moved to a system whereby every year a third of PCC members are elected to stand for 3 years. This ensures continuity whilst at the same time encouraging new PCC members to come forward. In addition to the full PCC meetings, various PCC sub committees meet to plan and discuss specific aspects of church life. A list of the committees and their activities for the last year can be found in the annual report.

The PCC is responsible for the implementation of safeguarding in the church. Policies in relation to children and young people and adults at risk are available to view on request.

Almost uniquely the fabric of the church is the responsibility of a board of Governors founded in 1547.


The PCC membership is made up of the clergy, churchwardens, Deanery Synod members and elected members. The PCC membership for 2017 / 2018 is:

– Clergy

Helen Drever

– Churchwardens

Jackie Hayes, John Musty, Sheila Ralph

– Deanery Synod

Sue Barker, Amy Bright, Anne Jerman (also PCC Secretary), Carol Price

– Elected Members

Linda Bennett-Smith, Eileen Brassington (Lay Minister for Children and Families), Angela Cargill, Ernie Heard ( also Governors’ Representative), Glenda Hills (Treasurer), Kate Lang, ¬†Stephen Mitchell, Jack Shelley, Mandy Tomlinson, ¬†James Turner

– Co-opted Members

Gill Lee (Parish Administrator)